Monday, August 31, 2009

Monday Musings

"There are no whole truths; all truths are half- truths. It is trying to treat them as whole truths that plays the devil." - Alfred North Whitehead

Sunday, August 30, 2009

Friday, August 28, 2009

Friday Funkday

I stood behind the booth, staring at the make-shift counter and waiting for the next guy in line. When I heard him shuffle up, I raised my eyes and gasped. It was him. Oh my God.

He smiled. "Five dollars for a kiss, right?"

Wednesday, August 26, 2009

In the darkness

Crawling on a tightrope,
the bravest thing I have is hope

Tuesday, August 25, 2009

Tuesday Prompt

The setting: post office.

An object: wanted poster.

Monday, August 24, 2009

Monster Truck Monday

"There are two ways to pass a hurdle: leaping over or plowing through... There needs to be a monster truck option." - Jeph Jacques

Sunday, August 23, 2009

Sunday Funday

Dear Mom,

I'm really, really sorry for what happened last night....

Friday, August 21, 2009

Friday Funkday

No one had ever told me the right things to say. So when I stood in front of my best friend's casket and looked down, I was frozen. But I knew what I really wanted to tell her... that it was my fault.

Wednesday, August 19, 2009


Habanero chicken wings
Vanilla bean ice cream

Monday, August 17, 2009

Sunday, August 16, 2009

Sunday Funday

I stare at the ticket. "Harold," I say, quietly. "You've won."

He runs his shaking hand through his thin blond hair. "Yeah. But I can't turn it in."


He looks away.

Wednesday, August 12, 2009

Right of Passage

Jeremy clutched the passport, knowing his way should be clear. A new country, a clean start. If only Vanessa hadn't tried to stop him.

Monday, August 10, 2009

Friday, August 7, 2009

Friday Funkday

Ted stepped onto the sagging cabin porch and straight into a wall of funk.
"Holy Smacks, what is that smell?"

Monday, August 3, 2009

Monday Muse

"...My playhouse is underneath
Our house, & I hear people
Telling each other secrets."

from Venus's-flytraps by Yusef Komunyakaa